How do I get my pharmacy tech license in New Jersey
To be certified as a pharmacy technician in the state of New Jersey, Applicants must fulfil all the rules and regulation.
What are those rules?
1. An Applicant must be over the age of 18.
2. Must be passed High School Diploma or GED. (all persons who were working full time as a Pharmacy tech prior to September 4, 2007 do not require High School Diploma or GED degree.)
3. Must be fluent in both written and/or spoken English
4. Must clear the criminal background check
5. Application must be completed in full without any errors. Must pay three types of fees by money order or personal check.
- $50 nonrefundable application fee
- $70 for registration fee
- $22.55 for criminal history Background check fees (You must send this fees separate along with CertifiCation and authorization form. You will be scheduled for finger printing by the agency.
6. Must send these documents
- Full-face 2?x 2? passportstyle one photograph (Do not staple the photo)
- Copy of Birth Certificate (If you name is changed, you must provide marriage license, marriage certificate or court judgement)
- Copy of Passports (Federal law is required that you must prove your citizenship/immigration status. So if you are not a U.S citizen, You must attach a copy of your Green card (front and back) or other documentation issued by the office of U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).)
- If you ever defaulted in student loans, You must provide proof of whatever settlement between you and your bank. If you cannot produce such papers, your application will be declined.
If you have child support obligation, your application will be rejected.
If you have a medical condition that requires drugs which might cause hallucination or physical/mental disability, your application might be declined. Agency will make decision on individual study.
If you provide any false information on application, Pharmacy Technician certificate will not be issued.
You must give your consent to the agency to check all past and present activities including employement. This consent letter is an affidavit which must be notarised by an approved notary public.
Read the application twice to make sure there is no error. Any error might delay the process or get denial to register as a pharmacy tech. Once all is confirm, send two separate checks or money orders. one for application and registration fees and other for criminal background and finger printing fees.
Send complete package to,
Division of Consumer Affairs
Board of Pharmacy
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45013
Newark, New Jersey 07101
Download the complete application along with the instructions
How long does it take to get pharmacy tech certification in New Jersey?
Once Board of Pharmacy receives the application along with all its required documents, It will take 10 to 14 business days to be scheduled for finger printing for criminal background check. Once the finger printing is done, Board of Pharmacy usually take another 3 to 4 weeks in order to issue the pharmacy technician certificate. If the Board of Pharmacy require any documents and or have any questions they will contact you.
How to renew pharmacy technician license in the state of New Jersey?
You will receive a letter from the office of Division of Consumer Affairs 90 days prior to license expiry date. You can renew your permit both online, http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/renew/ and by calling the office at (973) 273-8090. To renew you will require pharmacy tech license number and registration code number which can be found on the letter you received or on certification. There is a $70 renewal fees which can be paid also by credit cards. If you do not renew within the 30 days of the expiration date, your license will be suspended. Once it is suspended you must contact the office for direction on reinstatement procedures and extra fees.
How much is certified pharmacy technician salary in New Jersey?
If you do not have any prior experience as a pharmacy tech, you should expect to make around $9 per hour. Once you established experience your hourly rate can go up to $16 an hour with benefits. According the the labor statistics, by 2020 there will be around 50,000 job openings alone in New Jersey area.
Most Related Articles: